Definition Of Ras & Bhav In English

Please Rate This Post ...

Definition Of Ras & Bhav In English


(1). Ras is the quality that creates understanding between the artist and the viewer. Ras literally means that which can be tasted or enjoyed.

(2). Just as people experience the Ras of delicious food, which is made of spices, rice and other things, and they are happy, in the same way, by experiencing Sthai Bhav and other feelings, they are filled with joy and satisfaction. This feeling is then called ‘Natya Ras’.


(1). Bhav conveys meaning to the viewer. It is called Bhav because it conveys the subject of the poem, physical action and mental feelings to the audience.

(2). The expression ‘Bhavita’ is derived from words like ‘Vasita’ and ‘Prakrita’ which means to be.


(1). Vibhav is reason or cause or inspiration. It is called Vibhav because these words describe the body, gestures and mental feelings. There are two types of division:

  • Aalamban Vibhav or Maulik Nirdharak
  • Uddipan Vibhav or Uttejak Nirdharak

Aalamban Vibhav

(1). This is the main reason for the creation of sentiment. When bhava takes shape because of a person or thing or action it is called Alamban Vibhav.

Uddipan Vibhav

(1).When an object excites the senses like quality, action, decoration, environment etc.


(1). The one which originates from sentences and actions is called Anubhav. This is the result of division.

(2).It is the expression emotional feelings felt by a person. Vibhav has three parts, physical, vocal and mental.

Sthai Bhav

(1). Ras is born from Sthai Bhav. The feeling which is stable and universal is called Sthai Bhav.

(2). Vibhav , Anubhav and Vyabhichar are subject to sthai bhav. That’s why sthai bhav becomes main. Sthai bahv are made of feelings and Vyabhichar is ancillary.

(3). When there is a combination of Sthai Vyabhichari Vibhav and Anubhav, then Ras is formed. This type of Sthai Bhav is famous by the name of Ras. Sthai Bhav is 8

  • Rati (Prem)
  • Utsaah (Oorja)
  • Shok
  • Haas
  • Visamya
  • Bhay
  • Jugupsa
  • Krodh
  • Aashchary
  • Nerved

Some people also add ‘Sam’ to it.

Sanchari Bhav

(1). When Ras leads to an object or idea, it is called Sanchari Bhav.

Sattvik bhav

(1). Efforts that arise automatically from the body of shelter without any external effort from it are called Sattvik Anubhav, it is also called ‘Ayatnaj Bhav’. There are eight types of sattvic feelings

• Stambh

• Sved

• Svarabhang

• Vepathu (Kampan)

• Vivarny

• Ashrupaat

• Romaans

• Pralay