Introduction To Dashavatar In English

Please Rate This Post ...

Introduction To Dashavatar


  • In Hindu religion, there is a recognition of the incarnation of various gods. Often ten incarnations of Vishnu are considered, which are called Dashavatar. Similarly, many incarnations of Shiva and other gods and goddesses have also been considered.
  • Lord Vishnu is one of the Hindu trinity. According to the plan of creation, He preserves the universe after its creation, until its dissolution. The ten incarnations of Lord Vishnu are collectively called ‘Dasavatar’.
  • When man gets lost in the quagmire of injustice and unrighteousness, Lord Vishnu incarnates to show him the right path.


  • There are ten incarnations of Lord Vishnu :-

1) Matsay

2) Kurma

3) Mohini

4) Varaha

5) Narasimha

6) Vamana

7) Parshuram

8) Ram

9) Krishna

10) Kalki

  • The first three incarnations, namely Matsya, Kurma and Varaha incarnated in the first Mahayuga. The first Mahayuga is Satya Yuga or Krita Yuga.
  • Narasimha, Vamana, Parashurama and Rama incarnated in the second ie Tretayuga. Krishna and Venkateswara incarnated in Dwapara Yuga.
  • The current era is Kali Yuga and based on the prediction of Bhagavata Purana, there will be Kalki Avatar at the end of this era. This will bring an end to injustice and incest and there will be a rule of justice which will re-establish the Satya Yuga.


  • The above list of Dashavatar is generally accepted in Hindu religious texts, but there are some differences in different texts.
  • For example, according to some religious groups, Krishna is the Supreme Soul and the Dashavatara are the ten incarnations of Krishna; Hence, there is no Krishna in his list but Balarama in his place. Some consider Balarama to be an avatar, not Buddha. Generally Balarama is considered to be the incarnation of Adisesh.

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here